1980’s Lawnware Flower Pots Vs. 2022’s LightWare Flower Pots

A Review by Lawnware Flower Pot Lights Need A Comeback

Sunset LightWare’s version of the Lawnware 235 in a shade of Blue.

For nearly 9 years since I discovered that Lawnware Flower Pots were no longer being made, I’ve always dreamed of the day that they could be made again. Thus the community of “Lawnware Flower Pot Lights Need A Comeback” was Formed. People behind the social media page have come and gone, but I’ve stayed true to my dream. 1,000+ Page Followers Later, Someone saw potential in a new product because it was clear that more than a few people loved these lights. In 2022 Sunset Lightware became aware to us and as the creator behind the social media pages, I definitely had to be one of the first customers!

Original Lawnware 23 series 5″ flower pots (235)

Lawnware Flower Pots no matter the mold/design were unique in each of their own. One that would definitely be nearly impossible to recreate unless you had access to the original mold and pouring mixtures in the old factory –which now happens to be a warehouse check it out on Google maps!– The ones popular with us though however that we made lights out of had like a wooden groove on the outside which when viewed from the inside truly was Plastic. It was a thin material that would allow the light to “glow” through the design which unfortunately would grow brittle over time when left in the sun.

From my understanding, LightWare Flower Pots molds are created with the original Lawnware Flower Pots but with a few alternations.

Once I received my Brand New Flower Pots, I immediately noticed how different the texture felt and how much thicker they were.

LightWare Flower Pot

They felt more like the plastic in plastic storage totes you buy at the store for storing things and whatnot. But THAT’S NOT A BAD THING! It still lights up beautifully!

LightWare Flower Pot when held up to light! VERY COLORFUL!🤩

The thinness of the original Lawnware Pots especially after growing brittle over time has affected me personally.

The two photos of a busted flower pot light about are of one of the two flower pots that my Grandmother left me after passing away. The one that broke also happened to be the one that my Grandfather made her years ago. With it always being in the sun, it grew brittle over the years and when it was hanging on my porch one day, a big gush of wind blew it down. I gathered up the pieces and glued it back together the best I could but it was a lost cause. So unfortunately eventually the day Came and I finally let it go. The other one that she left me will be staying indoors forever and ever.
📸: Sunset LightWare

Sunset LightWare has mentioned the thickness in their flower pots and it looks like these will last forever like the original Lawnware ones if not Longer so very great news to hear!

Sunset LightWare’s version of the drip pan

One other thing to mention is their version of the drip pan. A few people including myself have begged for a drip pan. I personally love them on the flower pot lights as they help push the glow out than rather push it right below the area it’s hanging. Their drip pan is thicker just like the flower pot and it happens to have 3 tabs sticking off of it.

Sunset LightWare’s explanation of drip pan design below:

📸: Sunset LightWare
📸: Sunset LightWare

All In All, I’m satisfied with the product and I’m thankful for the company as well! I however am not satisfied with the shipping rates. I paid like 2-3x as much as I paid for the flower pots for the shipping alone. Shipping has been a mess for everyone this past year so hopefully it’ll go back down eventually. If you’re closer than me (Ohio) you’ll more than likely have a better rate. This isn’t their fault though as I said.

I haven’t gotten to making these into lights yet, but when I do rest assured pictures will be posted!!

Okay one more thing!!!!

One thing I absolutely love about their flower pots or “Lamp Shades” is how customizable they are! When you go to order, you can pick your color, shade of color, and they even have some that glow in the dark!! The opportunities are endless!!!

📸:Sunset Lightware

While the original Lawnware Flower Pots did come in a few colors, the only ones that had a “glow” when lit up were the white or cream ones!A few people (myself included) Painted them for a different look.

📸: Lawnware Flower Pot Lights Need A Comeback

You can order your new LightWare Flower Pots Right Here!

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started